The Calling

1 Cor. 1:26-29

For ye see your calling, bretheren, how that not many wise men after the flesh, not many mighty, not many noble, are called. But God hath chosen the foolish things of the world to confound the wise; and God hath chosen the weak things of the world to confound the things the things which are mighty; And the base things of the world, and the things which are despised hath God chosen, yea, and the things which are not, to bring to nought the things that are: That no flesh should glory in his presence.

Have you ever sat and wondered why on earth God wanted you. I have. I was the one out of all three of  us who ended up in trouble the most. I was the most stubborn one out of the bunch. I read this verse a couple of years ago and it became an instant favorite. It gave me the reason why He chose me. He came to seek those which were lost. He called me because I was one of the weak things of the world. He knew I was too weak to hold up under the world without Him. Maybe He even thought that my stubbornness might be of help to Him. Who knows what He found that He liked.

Thus saith the Lord, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16

I always felt pretty sorry for Jeremiah. In my opinion he was the prophet that got picked on the most. He was always being thrown in a dungeon. Then had to be pulled back out of the mire. Isreal had a calling. God was calling them back, but they would not follow God with their hearts. They missed a lot of God’s blessings that way.

Romans 10: 13

For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.

For those that answer God’s calling shall be saved from damnation to hell. also called the bottomless pit or the lake of fire. It was on July 22, 2004 that I answered God’s call and opened the door for Him to come into my life. Even then I had to struggle to let God have every bit of my life and allow Him to be a constant friend. And I have found that He will never leave me nor forsake me.

In Matthew 28: 20 it says, “Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you alway, even unto the end of the world. Amen.”

Published in: on July 12, 2009 at 7:15 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ayounglady.wordpress.com/2009/07/12/the-calling/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Don’t forget that it was He that created not only the earth but He created you too!

    But God hath chosen the foolish things of the world to confound the wise

    That was the part that always stuck out to me. Sometimes it is the simple silly little things that get me thinking.


Leave a Reply

