Tribulation Worketh Patience

Well for someone with a quick, natural, Irish temper that is easier said then done. I find the mind is quick and it takes but a moment to snap back at someone. Usually it is done without so much as a thought. Then the next half hour is spent trying to sooth the conscience, before trudging back to the person to apologize.

Anger can be inside as well as out. I know that from eperience. I may not snap at a person physically, but that doesn’t mean I don’t do it mentally. By then it’s time to trudge upstairs and have a good conversation with God. Usually I spend the first couple of paragraphs trying to plead my cause before I admit how wrong it was and ask for forgiveness there.

I love the verse Romans 5:3 “And not only so, but we glory in tribulations also: knowing that tribulation worketh patience.” Doesn’t mean that I have that yet, but I can still love that verse and try to gain that by remaining as positive as possible when someone gets moody in the house. Although this morning was a great example of not having a positive attitude.

Tribulation doesn’t have to be a large problem like the apostles and their followers faced. It can be something small, and it’s usually a lesson that is repeated many times over in life, so it is never forgotten. Still a bright outlook can only last so long before it crumbles. It’s kind of like the game where the people try and see who can be silent the longest. Instead it is trying to see how long a person can have a bright outlook when there are moody people in the house. Try it, who knows you may find it can be fun at times and more trying at other times.

Published in: on July 17, 2009 at 12:23 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ayounglady.wordpress.com/2009/07/17/tribulation-worketh-patience/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment