A Hymn and It’s History

I LOVE singing. You can catch me singing in various places. At the computer, in the vehicle whenever we are going anywhere, and outside on the swing. I have memorized plenty of songs, more so then the bible.

For a couple of years we have been getting a internet program called A Hymn and It’s History. God bless the people who put it up. It was on that sight were I first heard the hymn “Almost Persuaded,” later aiding in my salvation. I really, really, really enjoy their sight and all the work and effort they put into giving the hymn plus the history of the person behind the hymn and how it came to be.

I can completely lose myself when I’m singing. There is no song greater then the old gospel hymns and I wish I knew more of them. Some show a lot of sorrow while others bring the glory of God strait into the very depths of the soul. If the right expression is put into one of these timeless peices they are never dull.

Abide with me; fast falls the eventide;                                                                                                                                                                                  The darkness deepens; Lord with me abide.                                                                                                                                                                   When other helpers fail and comforts flee,                                                                                                                                                                          Help of the helpless, Oh abide with me!

Amazing grace! How sweet the sound                                                                                                                                                                               That saved a wretch like me!                                                                                                                                                                                                       I was once lost, but now am found,                                                                                                                                                                                        Was blind, but now I see.

What amazing words and with such absolute depths! I love those old hymns!

 

Published in: on July 18, 2009 at 12:11 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ayounglady.wordpress.com/2009/07/18/a-hymn-and-its-history/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. It is always so quiet when you aren’t around. The piano is not playing, there is not songs floating through the air, and you soon become greatly missed!
    You often encourage me when you are singing and playing.
    Joyfully Yours,
    Much Love ADW


Leave a Reply

