My Savior First Of All

Many of us have heard about the blind, famous hymn writer, Fanny Crosby. She is probably one of the most famous in history. She wrote at least 8,000 hymns under 200 different pen names. Yet, she is the most awe inspiring woman I have ever heard of.

At the age of eight, Fanny wrote a little piece of poetry that would show  throughout her life.

Oh, what a happy child I am,
Although I can not see!
I am resolved that in this world
Contented I will be!
 
How many blessings I enjoy,
That other people don’t!
To weep and sigh because I’m blind,
I can not- no I won’t!

A well intentioned Scottish minister once mentioned to her, “I think it is a great pity that the Master, when he showed so many gifts upon you, that he did not give you sight.”

Fanny’s rebuke came quickly. “Do you know that if at birth I had been able to make one petition to my Creator, it would have been that I had been born blind.”

The shocked minister asked, “Why?”

She answered, “Because, when I get to heaven, the first face that shall ever gladden my sight will be that of my Savior.”

So it will not suprise you that she wrote a hymn called “My Savior First Of All.”

When my life work is ended, and I cross the swelling tide,
When the bright and glorious morning I shall see;
I shall know my Redeemer when I reach the other side,
And His smile will be the first to welcome me.

 

I shall know Him, I shall know Him,
And redeemed by His side I shall stand,
I shall know Him, I shall know Him,
By the print of the nails in His hand.

 

Oh, the soul thrilling rapture when I view His blessed face,
And the luster of His kindly beaming eye;
How my full heart will praise Him for the mercy, love and grace,
That prepare for me a mansion in the sky.

 

I shall know Him, I shall know Him,
And redeemed by His side I shall stand,
I shall know Him, I shall know Him,
By the print of the nails in His hand.

 

Oh, the dear ones in glory, how they beckon me to come,
And our parting at the river I recall;
To the sweet vales of Eden they will sing my welcome home;
But I long to meet my Savior first of all.

 

I shall know Him, I shall know Him,
And redeemed by His side I shall stand,
I shall know Him, I shall know Him,
By the print of the nails in His hand.

 

Through the gates to the city in a robe of spotless white,
He will lead me where no tears will ever fall;
In the glad song of ages I shall mingle with delight;
But I long to meet my Savior first of all.

 

I shall know Him, I shall know Him,
And redeemed by His side I shall stand,
I shall know Him, I shall know Him,
By the print of the nails in His hand.
Published in: on July 28, 2009 at 6:38 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ayounglady.wordpress.com/2009/07/28/my-savior-first-of-all/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

