Wise As Serpents, And Harmless As Doves

I was listening and observing a conversation amoung several young ladies one day and to my amazement they were discussing something completely unbecoming and foolish of a young lady to say. I was struck as to how violent my one friend was talking about what she’d done to somebody. For some odd reason Matthew 10:16 came to mind.

“Behold, I send you forth as sheep in the midst of wolves: be ye therefore wise as serpents, and harmless as doves.” That verse has stuck with me since. As I stood to go somewhere quick, I remarked to her, “Whatever happened to being wise as serpents and harmless as doves.” They all laughed and returned to their conversation.

But that verse has come in to my head these past weeks more than I can count. How many times do I lash out with my temper without thinking or talk foolishly for no good reason? I’m a bit of an observer and listener. I love to listen, more so than talk and I like to watch how people interact with their siblings and so forth. But I know I’ve got a nasty tongue when it wants to show and I’m not always careful with what I say. I’m a blunt, straite forward person and I tend to speak what is on my mind regardless of what others may think.

Lately I’ve been trying to learn when and when not to speak. It’s hard decerning just where I should put in a comment and what I should say. Sometimes I speak when I shouldn’t and other times I don’t when I should. I’m convicing myself it’s a learning process and will take time. Nothing happens in the blink of an eye. (With the exception of the rapture) I’ve got may learning goals in life, but one of the major ones is learning to be wise as serpents, and harmless as doves. 

Published in: on August 3, 2009 at 12:29 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ayounglady.wordpress.com/2009/08/03/wise-as-serpents-and-harmless-as-doves/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

