The Only Ones

Joshua 24:15 “And if it seem evil unto you to serve the LORD, choose you this day whom ye will serve; whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the flood, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land ye dwell: but as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.”

There have been many times lately when I would look around me and see all the Christians around me going the opposite direction of what God had intended and I wondered forlornly, “Are we the only ones left? Are we the only ones that are willing to serve the Lord no matter what other people said? Were we the only ones out there who believed the Bible for what God says it is? ”

Then I realized that I should have been looking to Jesus instead of around me.

Psalms 12: 6 “The words of the LORD are pure words: as silver tried in a furnace of earth, purified seven times.”

About a month or so ago we began to visit a little baptist church about a half an hour away. We had been going to a mediun to large size fellowship for about three years or a little more and it is very nice. I made some great friends. They are lovely people, honest. They would do anything for you.

It has been interesting to learn from different perspectives. Getting encouragement from people by seeing the different ideas they have about God, His Word, and family.

My family however missed being around believers with the same ideas regarding these things. We missed the encouragement that comes from seeing others following God with the same kind of heart felt belief in the King James Bible.

I did not realize how my soul thirsted! When I heard the preaching I wanted to hear more and more. And well, I still want to hear more! 🙂 Hearing good sound doctrine and teaching is intoxicating!

While there we got to see a family we haven’t seen since I was a little girl and just beginning to learn to play the violin. Getting reaquainted was very nice. We have enjoyed it immensly. It has been an upliftling time for all three families that happened to get reaquainted and it has lifted the spirit of my family.

John 8:32 ” And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.”

So, to answere the questions written above. No, we are not the only ones. God had his perfect timing and he only knows why we spent three years in a home fellowship, but I’m glad we were there for the many friends I made and lessons I learned. I have learned that we are placed where we are according to the purpose he would have us do. It’s just a matter of time before He moves us along.

Published in: on August 6, 2009 at 3:34 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ayounglady.wordpress.com/2009/08/06/the-only-ones/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

